Savanna CCA Nominees 2014

Here are the nominees for The 4th Annual South AfricanSavanna Comic’s Choice Awards®

In partnership with The Times, Mzansi Magic and Kaya FM 95.9

After much campaigning, vetting, lobbying, nail-biting and sweating, the nominees for The 4th Annual South African Savanna Comic’s Choice Awards® (CCA’s) have been announced.

Now winning a prestigious Waldo statuette is no longer a dream, but a one in five chance for each of the talented comics below. And the nominees, as voted for by the comedy industry are…!

The Savanna Newcomer Award:  Alfred Adriaan, Loyiso Madinga, Yaaseen Barnes, Glen Biderman-Pam, Bradford Keen

The Breakthrough Act Award: Donovan Goliath, Jason Goliath, Schalk Bezuidenhout, Deep Fried Man, Kagiso Kg Mokgadi

The Comic’s Choice Comic Of The Year Award: Tumi Morake, Chester Missing, Loyiso Lungile Gola, Trevor Noah, Riaad Moosa

The Times Comic’s Pen Award: David Kibuuka, Chester Missing, Loyiso Lungile Gola, Kagiso Lediga, Christopher Steenkamp

Lifetime Achiever: Mark Banks (There are no nominees in this category, just the recipient) – Go Mark Banks!

The Savanna Audience Choice Award: This is the only category that’s open to public vote, so voting stays open until 28 July 2014.  If you want to win a VIP experience to the awards bash, vote now by SMSing your favourite comedian’s unique code to 38374.

Mashabela Galane – Unique code – 1197
Sifiso Nene – Unique code – 1187
Elton Mduduzi Ntuli – Unique code – 1283
Thapelo TIPS Seemise – Unique code – 1150
Thabang Ramasenya – Unique code – 1284

You can vote 20 times (if you can’t choose just one favourite comedian!)

Anyone who follows the awards closely will notice that there are five nominees in each category instead of four. That’s because this year the number of registered comedians grew by almost 30% and as there are so few categories, comedians now have a higher chance of being nominated.

You’ll also notice that the word ‘recipient’ is used instead of ‘winner’, that’s because the purpose of the awards isn’t to compete against each other, it’s to acknowledge the work being done.

Special acknowledgement is due for Mark Banks who deserves lifetime recognition for his contribution to SA’s comedy landscape. In a time when it was still dangerous to criticise the government, he was a genuinely interesting, alternative comic.  His recent comeback to sketch shows has been phenomenally well received, so hats off to Mark for this well deserved accolade and for over 25 years of comedy.

In true CCA style, Mark’s closest peers will ‘grill’ him at a special night at Parker’s Comedy Club on 9 July, a few weeks before the award ceremony.  If you fancy seeing a panel of ‘grill masters’ hurl comedic insults and downright abuse at him, book your tickets from the venue.

The actual Savanna CCA ceremony takes place at The Teatro at Montecasino on 2 August 2014.  It’s a hilarious variety show, comprising sketches, stand-up, impressionists and witty one-liners delivered by SA’s top comedians.
Limited tickets are available to public, so book now through Computicket
Of course, all the best events need the best media partners to support them, and the comedy industry thanks Mzansi Magic, The Times and Kaya FM 95.9 for helping to build comedy history.

Event Info:
Twitter: @ComicsChoice#SavannaCCA
Tickets: Computicket (

Issued on behalf of Whacked Management by One-eyed Jack.

For More Information, Media Accreditation, Interviews & Images Please Contact Darryn Lee On:
Email:  | Mobile: +27 82 831 7256

Issued on behalf of Whacked Management by One-eyed Jack.

Download the

Tsogo sun app

Western Cape
Eastern Cape
Free State